ARC Review – Commanded by Stacey Kennedy

Posted July 7, 2015 by smutmatters in ARC, Contemporary / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review – Commanded by Stacey KennedyCommanded (Club Sin, #6) by Stacey Kennedy
Series: Club Sin #6
Published by Loveswept on July 7th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Romance
Pages: 195
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes & Noble
three-half-stars
four-flames

Club Sin comes alive once again in this decadent new erotic romance from USA Today bestselling author Stacey Kennedy, perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey.A dedicated cop, Sawyer Quinn blows off steam by immersing himself in his role as a Master at the hottest club in Las Vegas. But when Sawyer goes after the perp who brutally beat his sister, he teams up with Chloe Nash, a sexy private investigator who awakens a sweet new need: to keep her to himself, away from the dungeon of Club Sin. Chloe is beautiful, smart, and too innocent for the BDSM lifestyle. Sawyer’s never wanted a woman like this before. Is her love worth swearing off the one thing that keeps him sane?There’s something different about Sawyer: a commanding strength that pulls Chloe into a vortex of heady desire. But when she learns about his double life as a Dom, she’s shocked—and afraid she could never complete him. Then he saves her life, and just like that, Chloe knows she will be able to give him anything he desires. She is his—wherever and however he wants to take her.

Sawyer Quinn is a cop who blows off steam by his role as a Dom Master at Club Sin. When his younger sister is brutally beaten by her boyfriend, he and PI Chloe Nash team up to hunt him down.

I both did and didn’t like this one. I really like Sawyer and Chloe, both individually and as a couple. (Weren’t those the names of a couple in Lucky Harbor?)  I got the feeling they had met in a previous book. I didn’t realize when I requested this that it was the sixth book in a series. I thought it read pretty well as a standalone, though. There were a lot of couples who were clearly from previous books, which I’ll definitely check out.

This one was pretty light on the actual BDSM. And the resolution to the difference in their sexual lifestyles was too easy. Sawyer was a little too quick to decide he was going to leave it all behind. From what I know of the BDSM lifestyle, someone who’s risen to the level of Dom Master in his club, and is looked up to as a leader, helping initiate other Doms and Subs is not going to suddenly decide, “That’s ok. My new girlfriend isn’t into the lifestyle, so I’ll just spend the rest of my life spanking her and that’ll be fine.” It was a lot for him to give up, and Chloe never even really tried it. She went to a club with some of Sawyer’s friends, looked around a bit from her seat at a table in the bar area and decided it wasn’t for her. I really wish she had tried it at least once. Even if not at the club, she could have tried something with Sawyer at home.

However, I loved that Sawyer was very clear on the division between his Dom lifestyle and his life outside of the club. There was never any misunderstanding about that. In the bedroom, Sawyer was completely in charge. Outside of it, though, he and Chloe were equals. He never treated her like a Sub outside of their bedroom. That’s been a sticking point for me in a lot of BDSM relationships I’ve read. However your relationship works in the bedroom, if one treats the other without respect and trust outside of it, I have a rough time getting behind the relationship. Luckily, that wasn’t the case with Sawyer and Chloe.

The part with Sawyer’s sister’s boyfriend was the weakest part of this one for me. The whole kidnapping plot, while a chaotic mess, was still a little too well thought out and executed for your average meth head. It seemed like it was really stuck in there in order to let us see Sawyer’s exceptional sniper skills, which I would have believed without that scene.

Overall, this was a great introduction to Stacy Kennedy. I’m definitely going back and reaing the first five in the series when I get a chance. I liked all the couples I saw here who had already had their books. The writing was solid, the sex scenes were good, and the couple was great. All I want in a romance novel.

About Stacey Kennedy

STACEY KENNEDY is the USA Today bestselling author of the CLUB SIN series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion – staying true to her heart. Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones and Outlander.